21 Days to the trail!

Woohoo!! There are only three weeks until Luke and I head out on the trail! In just 21 days we will be arriving at Campo, CA and starting our hike. Everyday we are getting a little bit closer to actually being ready to go and I have finally realized that no matter how much we plan or don’t plan the trip is going to happen and we are going to be fine. We will have enough food, and if we don’t- we’ll buy more. Our gear will be fine, and if it’s not- we’ll swap it out for different gear. No matter how much we plan, the unexpected will happen and our plans will change and I am excited to see what the trail throws at us.

Last night we did a massive Costco run to get our snacks, breakfasts, and other assorted critical foods…like Nutella.

A full cart at Costco!

A full cart at Costco!

While we were there, we ran into another person from Burlington who will be thru hiking the PCT this year as well..Noah! Check out his blog here. He had a cart full of food and we compared purchases and food ideas. I serendipitously met Noah while at Outdoor Gear Exchange this weekend when I was buying new shoes to start in. Noah was talking to Shivers, an OGE employee and PCT thru hiker of 2012, when I walked up to find out if Shivers had any thoughts on my footwear choice. It turns out, Noah will be starting the PCT the day after Luke and I do. We are excited to have another person from Burlington out on the trail and we are getting together tonight to talk PCT planning.

Luke and I have also been able to take quite a few things off of our giant post it to do list in his (now our!) room. 

Checking things off!

Checking things off!

Last weekend, I graduated from my 200 hour yoga teacher training at Yoga Vermont, which was very bittersweet for me. I am so excited to get out on the trail but will really miss my yoga community here in Burlington. We also packed up my room at my apartment and put a bunch of things into temporary storage and squeezed my remaining things into Luke’s room for the next couple of weeks. It’s amazing how all of the things I need for the next 5+ months will fit in one pack and then how much space all the stuff I think I need for the next three weeks takes up.

One of my favorite post it's to take down!

One of my favorite post it’s to take down!

We are still running the dehydrator, but we only have a few nights of food left to do. Next, we have to finish purchasing our food,  portion out our meals and snacks and then somehow figure out how much and what to put into each of our resupply packages. In between all of this, we are trying to spend as much time as we can with our friends in Burlington and going to all of our favorite places. I had a great bike ride this weekend out to the causeway on Lake Champlain..this is one of my favorite places on the lake. I am striving  to embody the principles of Ryan Hawks during these last couple of weeks in Burlington, especially to “live everyday, all day” before we leave.

The Causeway stretching out on Lake Champlain

The Causeway stretching out on Lake Champlain

One more thing I want to share is that I will be teaching a Sunset/Moon Rise yoga class on the lake at the Annual Day Zero Pacific Crest Trail Kick Off (ADZPCTKO). I’m looking forward to sharing my yoga practice with the thru hiker community. I will be sharing a few ideas on how to keep your body feeling good through yoga while you hike and how to bring your yoga practice outside and into the world.

Join me at Sunset/Moonrise Yoga at ADZPCTKO!

Join me at Sunset/Moonrise Yoga at ADZPCTKO!

2 thoughts on “21 Days to the trail!

Leave a Reply

